Contact

Mailing Address:
Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary
175 Edward Foster Road
Scituate, MA 02066

Phone Numbers:
(781) 545-8026 phone
(781) 545-8036 fax

General Email: stellwagen@noaa.gov

Facebook: facebook.com/SBNMS/

Twitter: @NOAASBNMS

Driving directions to office

Staff

Superintendent:
Pete DeCola – 781-546-6011; Pete.Decola@noaa.gov

Deputy Superintendent:
Ben Haskell – 781-546-6005; Ben.Haskell@noaa.gov

Marine Ecologist and Bioacoustician:
Leila Hatch, Ph.D. – 781-546-6006; Leila.Hatch@noaa.gov

Research Technician:
Liam Waters – 781-546-6023; Liam.Waters@noaa.gov

Boat Captain:
Amy Meloski – 781-546-6017; Amy.Meloski@noaa.gov

Volunteer Program Coordinator:
Caitlin Fitzmaurice – 508-217-6855; Caitlin.Fitzmaurice@noaa.gov

Research Marine Scientist:
Tammy Silva, Ph.D. – 781-546-6019; Tammy.Silva@noaa.gov

Facilities and Vessel Operations Coordinator:
David Slocum – 781-546-6021; Dave.Slocum@noaa.gov

Resource Management Specialist:
Samantha Tolken – 978-675-2176; Samantha.Tolken@noaa.gov

Project Manager:
Mike Bailey – 781-544-4351; Mike.Bailey@noaa.gov

Program Support Assistant:
Elizabeth (Bibi) Stokes – 781-546-6004; Elizabeth.Stokes@noaa.gov

Marine Ecologist and Permit Coordinator:
Alice Stratton – 203-882-6515; Alice.Stratton@noaa.gov

Geographer and GIS Analyst:
Mike Thompson – 781-546-6008; Michael.A.Thompson@noaa.gov

Marine Ecologist and Research Coordinator:
Dave Wiley, Ph.D. – 781-546-6014; David.Wiley@noaa.gov

NOAA Special Agent:
Timothy Wilmarth – 781-546-6013 or 978-290-0863; Tim.Wilmarth@noaa.gov

Contact: Emergency Numbers

Emergency Contact Information

Most sanctuary incidents and violations of regulations are not emergencies and should be referred to the sanctuary office at 781-545-8026. For all incidents that appear to be critical and require immediate attention, please see below:

Right Whales: To report a sighting of a right whale (living, entangled, injured, or dead), call: 866-755-NOAA (6622) or contact the U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16.

Entangled, stranded, injured, or dead marine mammals: Observations should be called in to 866-755-NOAA (6622) or contact the U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16. If instructed by NOAA or the Coast Guard and you feel it is safe to do so, please stand by the animal until a rescue team or alternate observer arrives.

Entangled, stranded, injured, or dead sea turtles: To report sea turtle incidents, call 866-755-NOAA (6622) or contact a stranding network member.

Suspected oil or hazardous substance releases or maritime security issues: Contact the U.S. Coast Guard's National Response Center (NRC) at 1-800-424-8802 or use Channel 16 for any such incidents. For more information, go to https://nrc.uscg.mil/.

Suspected violations of the Marine Mammal Protection Act, the Endangered Species Act, or U.S. and state fisheries regulations: Contact the NOAA Fisheries Office of Law Enforcement at 1-800-853-1964 or the U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16. More information. If possible, take videos of the incident for documentation purposes.

Vessel emergencies: To report a fire, sinking, person lost overboard, life-threatening injury or other emergency at sea, send a distress message on Channel 16. Know how to send a distress/mayday message – review materials on the U.S. Coast Guard's radio information for boaters web page.

Diving emergencies: For a suspected life-threatening diver incident, call the U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16. The Divers Alert Network (DAN) is available to answer diver emergency questions and offer assistance 24/7/365. DAN Phone number: 919-684-9111.

Hazards to Navigation: Report any large objects floating in the sanctuary to the U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16. Be prepared to give a complete description and the last known location of the hazard.

Sea Turtles: To report sea turtle incidents, call 866-755-NOAA (6622) or contact a stranding network member (Boston/North Shore/NH call 617-973-5247 or South of Boston/Cape Cod call 508-349-2615)